Brown leads most laps to take notable win in Norisring '08 DTM

Image by Paulo Neto

Ring takes to rFactor

Image by Alex Alvim
Rafael Iwata (silver car) and Alex Alvim (black car) side by side.
Norisring '08 DTM
28 Oct 2016

28 Oct 2016 — Joe Brown spent a race-leading 36 laps at the front to win his 10th career victory in the Norisring '08 DTM in Round 2 of the Deutsche Tourenwagen-Meisterschaft series.

Brown drove the majority of 14 laps total pursuing Marcos Landa after targeting him on lap 8, coming from as many as five places back. Driving the BMW M3, Brown launched an extended challenge at Landa in the early stages, staying within a car length behind him and keeping pace over a solid run of 10 laps. Brown passed Landa and into first place on lap 18, and held it the remaining 35 laps to the finish.

The noteworthy win for Brown came on his seventh outing in the BMW M3. Brown has taken the BMW M3 to Norisring '08 two times, and this was his second victory there. Brown is third in the standings for the series. He has one start and led 36 of his 53 laps raced while taking the victory once.

Scott Ring captured second place.

Deutsche Tourenwagen-Meisterschaft series moves on to Round 3 in three weeks at a track to be announced. The series has 23 drivers competing for points in the championship.

Bruno Chacon held off Rafael Iwata at the finish line by the tight margin of 0.079 seconds to take ninth place.

Ring swapped leads multiple rounds with Mark Carty in a long and tense battle for sixth from the beginning, running within a turn of each other over a span of 49 laps. Driving the Audi A5, Ring ran nearly all leading Carty after engaging and passing him on the third lap, coming from as many as four places back. Ring fended off an extended attack by Carty in the beginning, staying just a car length ahead of him over an unbroken run of 14 laps. After losing the spot on lap 28, Ring passed Carty for the second time and into second place on lap 30, and defended it against pressure by Carty the remaining 24 laps to the checkered flag.

Ring moves up to fourth in the standings, one point behind Joe Brown. Ring has two starts and led 14 of his 69 laps while finishing as high as second.

Driving the Mercedes AMG, Chacon swapped leads with Paul Huggett in a prolonged fight for 11th from the middle stages, fighting over a span of 13 laps. Chacon ran the majority pursuing Huggett after being caught and passed by him on lap 28. Chacon launched a prolonged challenge at Huggett in the middle stages, staying within a sector behind him and gaining ground over an unbroken run of 10 laps. Chacon got around Huggett and into ninth place on lap 38, and controlled it the remaining dozen laps to the exhilarating finish with Iwata.

Chacon is 11th in the standings for the series. He has two starts and finished as high as eighth.

Josh Crane took fourth place.

Driving the BMW M3, Crane spent nearly equal parts of seven laps total leading Scott Ring after being caught by him on lap 17. In the end Crane settled into fourth the 24 laps running to the conclusion.

Crane moves up to second in the standings, 13 points behind Mark Carty. Crane has two starts and finished as high as third.

Mark Carty captured third place.

RESULTS Click driver name for individual report
1 Joe Brown N.E.W! 53 45:23.910
2 Scott Ring 53 45:45.076
3 Mark Carty CanAm Racing 53 45:52.787
4 Josh Crane 53 45:53.927
5 Paulo Neto 52 45:26.876
6 Octavio Correia 52 45:34.568
7 abhishek dalia White Knockels Rookie Team 51 45:28.481
8 Alex Alvim 51 45:39.277
9 Bruno Chacon Moonshine Runners 50 45:40.314
10 Rafael Iwata 50 45:40.393
11 Paul Huggett Over 50 Racing Team 49 45:31.906
12 Marcos Landa 29 DNF
13 Emanuel Roseti 21 Suspension
14 Joao Botelho de Sousa Atlantic Motorsport Academy 19 Suspension
15 Alex García 0 Suspension
WEBSITE | Superview Help Search
COMMUNITY | Screens Forums Homepages / Blogs Live
RACING | Events Drivers Teams Leagues
© 2006-2017 VindexWorks Inc.
Users online now: Emeric FRAISSE Andy Graydon